Fly Tying Materials Advice

With so many materials available to the fly tyer we hope to offer advice inspiration and techniques to further your ideas, skills and ambition.


Monday, 26 June 2017  |  Admin
Friday, 9 June 2017  |  Admin

As Hans said on his Facebook page "Now the peacock bird get on the red list of endangered species Straggle String suddenly becomes indispensable as synthetic substitute. It is an awesome material. Here replacing natural peacock herl for synthetic and the results are amazing."

Monday, 13 March 2017  |  Admin
Thursday, 22 September 2016  |  Admin
Tie It Or Buy It! Sandys's Straggle Pheasant Tail! Free Tying Guide or Flies To Go!

Free tying guide!

1 CommentMonday, 19 September 2016  |  Admin
Deadly Mohican Flies!

Hans Van Klinken, Barbless Mohicans, & Straggle String

Sunday, 4 September 2016  |  Admin
Our hottest fly! Tie or Buy - you choose Inferno Bugs

Materials, instruction, background - we present to you, the Inferno Bug.

1 CommentTuesday, 23 August 2016  |  Andy
Introduction To Fly Tying Wires

Wires have have 3 primary uses in fly tying as:

  1. bodies in flies like the Copper John
  2. to add weight to a fly to help it sink or
  3. as ribbing on both dry flies and lures, nymphs and streamers.

Wires come in different guages or sizes 0.1mm, 0.2mm and 0.3mm the most common in fly tying and in a range of colours.

Wednesday, 28 October 2015  |  Admin

Celebrity adventurer Ben Fogle has praised the skills of all those who spend their time in the water with their fly fishing rods after he attempted to learn the art for his new television show.

Tuesday, 20 October 2015  |  Admin

Family Friendly Fishing Platforms Installed

Wednesday, 2 September 2015  |  Admin
Wednesday, 2 September 2015  |  Admin
Sunday, 30 August 2015  |  Admin
Sunday, 30 August 2015  |  Admin
Tuesday, 25 August 2015  |  Admin
Monday, 24 August 2015  |  Admin
Sunday, 23 August 2015  |  Admin
Wednesday, 12 August 2015  |  Admin
Sunday, 12 July 2015  |  Admin
Sunday, 12 July 2015  |  Admin
Saturday, 11 July 2015  |  Admin

Page 2 of 4    (62 Posts)
The Essential Fly Fishing Shop
The Essential Fly Fishing Shop
THE ESSENTIAL FLY
Blog Headlines: